isitimela Sendaba – The Story Train: The Calabash Kids

Baeletsi Tsatsi

11 days, 11 vibrant storytellers bring you a daily dose of African stories to engage and delight! Come journey with us on the ASSITEJ SA story train. Since lockdown, online storytelling has become a popular way to engage curious young minds with imaginative worlds. ASSITEJ SA brings you a series of fascinating, wacky and memorable stories travelling to you on our story train from different parts of our country and continent. Hosted by Thembile Snypper Tshuma and Tsholofelo Shounyane, these stories will amuse and engage the 5 to 10-year olds. This storytelling delight was born out of a collaboration between ASSITEJ SA (theatre for young audiences) and Play Africa, which has now become a popular feature on Facebook Live every Tuesday afternoon. Now in this newly designed production, isitimela Sendaba (the story train), 11 storytellers come together to share their best stories with young audiences. Thobekile Mbanda‘s story ‘Latozi and her Uhadi’ is a tribute to one of the featured artists on vNAF, the extraordinary Madosini, whose musical virtuosity and storytelling prowess is legendary. Other storytellers include: Sizwe Vilakazi, Baeletsi Tsatsi, Mfundo Hashe, Busisiwe Radebe, Thando Mkhoyi, John Namai (Kenya) Getrude Vimbayi Munhamo (Zimbabwe), Veronique Mensah (Namibia), and Oluwaseun “Aunty Shine-Shine” Odukoya (Nigeria).

To join your hosts, Thembile Tshuma and Tshilifelo Shounyane,  click the register button below!

Isitemela Sendaba – Story Train takes place at 2pm every day of the Festival.

  • Genre: Storytelling
  • Format: Live performance
  • Duration: 30mins
  • Language: English
  • Ages: All ages - especially young children
  • Available From: June 27, 2020



Producer: Yvette Hardie
Coordination support:  Alison Green
Host Storytellers: Thembile Snypper Tshuma, Tsholofelo Shounyane

Guest Storytellers:
South Africa – Baeletsi Tsatsi, Busisiwe Radebe, Mfundo Hashe, Sizwe Vilakazi, Thando Mkhoyi, Thobekile Mbanda,
Kenya – John Namai
Zimbabwe – Getrude Vimbayi Munhamo
Namibia – Veronique Mensah
Nigeria – Oluwaseun “Aunty Shine-Shine” Odukoya