WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (1756 – 1891) Divertimento in D, K 136

Cape Philharmonic Orchestra

Allegro * Andante * Presto

Opera, symphonies, concertos, chamber music … all 600 plus works flowed easily from the pen of Mozart in his short 35 years. This Divertimento, written at the age of 16, was the first of a group light-hearted yet supremely elegant works to be called the “Salzburg Symphonies”. Having three movements and not the more conventional four, and originally numbered K 125 a, 125 b and 125 c, these three differed from symphonies in that they were written for strings only. Concertmaster at the Court of Salzburg’s Archbishop at the time, Mozart also performed on the violin as well as the piano and may have written these brilliant, spirited masterpieces influenced by his visits to Italy for “background” music at dinners at the homes of Salzburg’s aristocracy. In fact, all do double duty as string quartets, perhaps even Mozart’s original intention.

  • Genre: Music
  • Format: Video
  • Duration: 20mins
  • Language: Non-verbal
  • Ages: All ages
  • Available From: July 2, 2020
Content no longer available.


Philip Martens Deputy Concertmaster
Emina Lukin Principal violin
Bonolo Kgaile Violin 1
Relifoe Olifant Violin 1
Maretha Uys Violin 1

Samantha Durrant Principal Second Violin
Tomasz Kita Sub-Principal Second Violin
Matthew Stead Violin 2
Milena Toma Violin 2

Petrus Coetzee Principal Viola
Azra Isaacs Sub-Principal Viola
Renette Swart Viola
Maja van Dyk Viola

Peter Martens Principal Cello
Eddie McLean Sub-Principal Cello
Dane Coetzee Cello

Roxane Steffen Principal Double Bass
Zanelle Brits Double Bass