Browse shows

Meet the 2016 Standard Bank Young Artist Award winners

Published on 28 October 2015

[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”yes” overflow=”visible”][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ background_position=”left top” background_color=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” spacing=”yes” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” padding=”” margin_top=”0px” margin_bottom=”0px” class=”” id=”” animation_type=”” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_direction=”left” hide_on_mobile=”no” center_content=”no” min_height=”none”][MEDIA RELEASE] Five of South Africa’s brightest creative stars were named as recipients of the Standard Bank Young Artist Awards on Wednesday 28 October, recognising and honouring their dynamic and outstanding contribution to the vitality of the arts in the country.

‘Each year, we marvel and celebrate a new group of artists whose work demonstrates innovation and artistic excellence,’ says National Arts Festival Artistic Director Ismail Mahomed. ‘These are artists who are courageously exploring new ways to shape or affirm our cultural experiences and identities. Their work inspires their peers. It enthrals our audiences. It revitalises the arts sector. Their incredible talents and creativity are the immense investments that we engage at the National Arts Festival to grow our arts economy.’

The winners of the 2016 Standard Bank Young Artist Awards are:

The strong partnership between the National Arts Festival and Standard Bank, which has sponsored the award since 1984, has helped develop South Africa’s cultural treasury that reflects the country’s artistic past as well as serves to inspire new generations of artists, performers and musicians.

‘The value of the Standard Bank Young Artist Award goes beyond just celebrating five new talents,’ Mahomed says. ‘The 31 years of identifying and nurturing Standard Bank Young Artists has given South Africa a rich cultural legacy with many of its earlier winners now being some of the leading cultural legends in our country.’

This year’s award winners join a celebrated roll call of honour that includes Sibongile Khumalo, William Kentridge, Kesivan Naidoo, Dada Masilo, Andrew Buckland, Helen Sebidi and many others. The number of artists who have received this accolade since its inception in 1981 now stands at 144.

‘Providing an opportunity to exhibit and showcase one’s works to key audiences is a critical part of a sustainable development programme. We facilitate this by showcasing the artists at our sponsored and owned arts properties such as the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz and the Standard Bank Gallery. We are proud of these trailblazers and look forward to working closely with them as they progress in their careers,’ says Hazel Chimhandamba, Head of Group Sponsorship at Standard Bank.

Winners from various artistic genres are selected by the National Arts Festival Committee, chaired by Brett Bailey. The winners receive a cash incentive, and are given support to develop and premiere new works that will be featured on the Main Programme of the 2016 National Arts Festival in Grahamstown, which will run from 30 June to Sunday 10 July 2016.




1981 ­ Richard E Grant, John Theodore, Jules van de Vijver
1982 ­ Janice Honeyman, Neil Rodger, Lindy Raizenberg
1983 ­ Paul Slabolepszy, Malcolm Payne, David Kosviner
1984 ­ Peter Schütz, Ken Leach; Standard Bank – 1820 Foundation 10th Anniversary Special Award: Lamar Crowson
1985 ­ Marion Arnold, Maishe Maponya, Sidwill Hartman
1986 Andrew Buckland, Gavin Younge
1987 William Kentridge, Hans Roosenschoon
1988 Margaret Vorster, Mbongeni Ngema
1989 Johnny Clegg, Marthinus Basson, Helen Sebidi, Gary Gordon; 1820 Foundation Special Award: Pieter-Dirk Uys
1990 Robyn Orlin, Fée Halsted-Berning, Bonnie Ntshalintshali
1991 Peter Ngwenya, Andries Botha, Darrell Roodt
1992 Deon Opperman, Tommy Motswai, Raphael Vilakazi, Kevin Harris
1993 Christopher Kindo, Sibongile Khumalo, Pippa Skotnes
1994 Jerry Mofokeng, Sam Nhlengethwa, Michael Williams
1995 Jane Alexander, Boyzie Cekwana, John Ledwaba, Abel Motsoadi
1996 Lara Foot Newton, Trevor Makhoba, Vincent Mantsoe, Victor Masondo
1997 Lien Botha, Geoffrey Hyland, Sibongile Mngoma; Standard Bank Special Award for vision, commitment and contribution: Alfred Hinkel
1998 David Mudanalo Matamela, Debbie Rakusin, Bongani Ndodana, Nhlanhla Xaba, Aubrey Sekhabi
1999 No awards made.
2000 Zenzi Mbuli, Gloria Bosman, Alan Alborough
2001 Tracey Human, Brett Bailey, Fikile Mvinjelwa, Walter Oltmann
2002 Gregory Vuyani Moqoma, Sello Maake Ka Ncube, Prince Kupi, Brett Murray
2003 Moya Michael, Yael Faber, Dumisani Phakathi, Angela Gilbert, Berni Searle
2004 Kathryn Smith, Mncedisi Shabangu, Portia Lebohang Mashigo, Tutu Puoane, Moses Taiwa Molelekwa (posthumously)
2005 Wim Botha, PJ Sabbagha, Andile Yenana, Mpumelelo Grootboom
2006 Concord Nkabinde, Churchill Madikida, Hlengiwe Lushaba, Sylvaine Strike
2007 Acty Tang, Bronwen Forbay, Shannon Mowday, Pieter Hugo, Akin Omotoso
2008 Dada Masilo, Nontsikelelo ‘Lolo’ Veleko, Jaco Bouwer, Mark Fransman, Zanne Stapelberg
2009 Thabo Rapoo, Kesivan Naidoo, Nicholas Hlobo, Jacques Imbrailo, Ntshieng Mokgoro
2010 Mlu Zondi, Melanie Scholtz, Michael MacGarry, Samson Diamond, Janni Younge, Claire Angelique
2011 Neil Coppen, Ben Schoeman, Nandipha Mntambo, Mamela Nyamza, Bokani Dyer
2012 Kelebogile (Pearl) Boikanyo, Mikhael Subotzky, Princess Zinzi Mhlongo, Bailey Snyman, Afrika Mkhize
2013 Fana Tshabalala, Runette Botha, Mary Sibande, Prince Lamla, Shane Cooper, Anthea Moys
2014 Jahmil XT Qubeka, Nicola Elliott, Kyle Shepherd, Hasan & Husain Essop, Njabulo Madlala, Donna Kukama, Greg Homann
2015 Nduduzo Makhathini, Christiaan Olwagen, Luyanda Sidiya, Kemang Wa Lehulere, Musa Ngqungwana, Athi Patra Ruga


The National Arts Festival, now in its 42nd year, has grown to be one of the leading arts festivals in Southern Africa. Its objectives are to deliver excellence; encourage innovation and development in the arts by providing a platform for both established and emerging South African artists; create opportunities for collaboration with international artists; and build new audiences.


The National Arts Festival established the Young Artist Awards in 1981 to acknowledge emerging young South African artists who demonstrate an outstanding artistic talent. These prestigious awards are presented annually to deserving artists in different disciplines – dance, jazz, music, theatre, visual art, performance art and film – affording them national exposure and acclaim. Standard Bank took over the sponsorship of the awards in 1984 and has presented Young Artist Awards in all the major arts disciplines over their 31-year sponsorship, as well as posthumous and special recognition awards. The winners feature on the Main Programme of the National Arts Festival in Grahamstown and receive financial support for their Festival participation, as well as a cash prize.

ISSUED BY: The Famous Idea
CONTACT: Gilly Hemphill
TEL: 011 706 8153
CELL: 082 820 8584