Browse shows





Albany & Bathurst Engineering

Albany Museum Group

Arts Council England

City of JoBurg

Cadar Printers

Canadian Council for the Arts

Churches of Grahamstown



Electrosonic South Africa

Eyesizwe Mining Development Foundation

Everard Read Gallery

French Institute in South Africa (IFAS)

Grahamstown Hospitality Guild


Line Out

Members of the South African and International Media


Pro Helvetia, The Swiss Arts Council

Rhodes University Drama Department

South African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO)

South African Police Service

Standard Bank for loan of computers

Standard Bank Gallery

Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne

World Fringe    

The Managements, Presenting Companies, Galleries, Artists and Technical Staff whose talent, professionalism and creativity make the Festival a pleasure to produce, and an amazing 11 days for our audiences to experience.

The Schools and Colleges of Makhanda:

Carinus Arts Centre, Diocesan School for Girls, Graeme College, Kingswood College, Nombulelo Secondary School, Ntsika Secondary School, Khutliso Daniels Secondary School, P J Olivier Hoërskool, St Andrew’s College, St Andrew’s Preparatory, Victoria Girls’ High School and Victoria Preparatory School.

The Citizens of Makhanda for their hospitality, support and encouragement.


Monica Newton (CEO)

Nobesuthu Rayi (Partnerships and Stakeholder Relations)

Rucera Seethal (Artistic Director)

Nicci Spalding (Technical Director)

Nqobile Mbhele (Artist Manager)

Akhona Daweti (Box Office Manager)

Charl van Deventer (Finance Manager)

Clarissa Carolus  (Village Green Administrator Manager)

Nazo Kweta (Finance Assistant)

Danielle Wessels (Receptionist and Social Secretary)

Sikhumbuzo Vena (Reception)

David Alam (Driver)

Lumka Klaas (Administration Officer)

Siviwe Qhude (Stage Technician)

Ayabulela Mpumlo (Stage Technician)

Brendon Wessels (Workshop Foreman)

Gareth Ndumo (General Assistant)

Mbuyiseli Dyaloyi (General Assistant)

Luzuko Gxasheka (General Assistant)

Sive Ranana (General Assistant)

Anele Panca (General Assistant)

Nomonde Mpofu (Kitchen Supervisor)

Jim O’Gorman (Stores Manager)

Malibongwe Meltafa (Crew Chief)

Tembinkosi Busakwe (Stores Assistant)

Abby Thatcher (Production Manager)

Benjamin Mills (Technical Manager)

Jabu Ngobeni (Senior Technician)

Nonthuthuzelo Xaba (Technical Office Administrator)

Zanele Meth (Production Assistant)


Media Team

Sascha Polkey (Rabbit in a Hat) Media and Public Relations

Ranique Roberts – Media Assistant 

Cracker Jack – Digital Advertising 

Breinstorm Brand Architects


Festival Website

The Festival Website is built and maintained by Devlabs

Fihla Consulting

Frankie Murray ( Copy Editor)

Ryan Bruton (Content Editor)


Board of Directors:

Mr Sikkie Kajee (Chairperson)

Dr Siphiwo Mahala (Deputy Chairperson)

Dr Hleze Kunju

Dr Sizwe Mabizela

Mr Mandla Mbothwe

Ms Annabel Lebethe

Ms Michelle Constant

Ms Nomkhitha Gysman

Advocate Tembinkosi Bonakele

Mr Robert Grace

Professor Kenneth Ngcoza

Ms Monica Newton (CEO)


Our sincerest thanks also to retired board members:

Grahame Lindop (retired 2020)

Albie Sachs (retired 2020)

Paul Bannister (retired 2021)

Elinor Sisulu (retired 2022)

Ayanda Mjekula (retired 2022)

Professor Jay Pather (retired 2023)


National Arts Festival Artistic Committee 2024

Vulindlela Nyoni

Caroline Calburn

Monaheng Motshabi

Gaby Saranouffi

Rucera Seethal

Nobesuthu Rayi

Alan Webster 


Sponsors’ Representatives

Pragasen Chetty (Eastern Cape Department of Sports, Recreation, Arts & Culture)

Dianne Graney (Standard Bank)

Dumisani Chabalala (Department of Sport, Arts & Culture)